As I write this poem, it’s the perfect moment not to delay
Visiting that sweet girl of yesterday.
For so long she had been kept safely hidden
In a place where others had been forbidden.

No one could understand how she and I connect
For I was the one present during the crime and neglect.
Someone who cared had finally set her free
The sweet little girl that I used to be.

Many don’t know that I sometimes stay home and start crying
To scared that if I told them the truth, they’d think I’m lying.
My childhood was filled with abuse and betrayal
But to be honest with you, that’s a very long tale.

Instead I’ll give you some tragedies that I endured
For many years feeling so unsecured.
I’ll share the events that have determined my life
Always looking toward the future to maybe one day becoming a wife.

It started when I was young, the oldest of seven
Loved being around my siblings, it felt like heaven.
But one day that all turned around
The whole time thinking, I wish I would drown.

Regardless of the abuse, I still had many responsibilities
Only to wish people knew of my disabilities.
I tried to tell my mom what was happening to me
All she ever said was “Aisha, stop bothering thee.”

Until one day, my mom told me he was going far from home
A sign of relief from me that I was finally going to be left alone.
At bedtime I kneeled and said my nighttime prayers
Thanking God for taking care of my dark affairs.

Now you’d think it all ended there
But come on now, who said life was fair?
As the years went by, alone my siblings and I were left at home
Being the eldest, I looked, smiled and said, “Don’t worry; just go grab that comb.”

They all began calling me their mother
Me as their savior and no one other.
Through my teenage years, I never went out
My role determined for life without a doubt.

When I was accepted to college, I finally felt free
Only to experience crap, I wish I could foresee
At first I told the youngest, that I’m going in the right track
But she began crying and asked, “When are you coming back?”

I felt selfish and needed a change
However, in the back of my mind, something felt really strange.
I went wild and was put in harmful situations
Where it brought back my childhood relations.

Alcohol and drugs, parties and sex
Never knowing what was going to be next.
In love with the release, my memories and trouble were flown away
And I finally felt like everything was okay.

Walking in darkness was where I headed
Scared to wake up, which of course I always dreaded.
But finally I found the answers I really needed
Now knowing I have truly succeeded.

Putting my faith in God, I have found my salvation
I was finally delivered; what a great sensation.
I found a support system that put me at ease
Pushing me toward God with their expertise.

I began nursing school after I recovered
However, something in the air was waiting to be discovered.
I went through school thinking this is what I wanted to do
Not realizing until later that I missed all the clues.

My sister became pregnant at the worst possible time
On drugs, a worthless man, nothing but a dime.
She wasn’t ready and put my nephew through some things
Trust me, nothing made for the king of kings.

Knowing that I had a duty to my nephew and his well-being
Many people couldn’t believe what they were seeing.
My sisters and I took my nephew from his mother
Realizing that if we didn’t, he could become someone’s foster brother.

I finished school, and trust me it was hard
I had many roles; one being my nephew’s guard.
At the end, I knew nursing wasn’t for me
So here I am looking for a higher degree.

With my experiences I knew social work was the way
Duty to the client always and never will I betray.
I was destined to help others on a different level
Passing medication was not a revel.

The ecological theory focuses on the fit between people and their environment
Realizing that the fit between the two could be bent.
Communication difficulties, role changes, and crisis events
These human problems are where it presents.

To help those in crisis we need to do an assessment
To gather information for the person and agency investment.
Showing empathy and care to those in need
Will sure help us social workers with supportive interventions indeed.

Research states that social support systems are imperative
I truly believe that; there’s nothing comparative.
In crisis, one needs to be able to confide in another without opinion
More like a friend who doesn’t have a dominion.

It’s important to advocate for social change
The role of those in authority should rearrange.
If they knew what the disadvantaged really felt
They would think less that those are how the cards are dealt.

Now I know that I carry the weight of the world on my shoulders
But I’ve dealt with a lot so nothing gets older.
I understand that this profession is no joke
But I want to change lives so I will provoke.

I believe that children should feel love and security
That the elderly should be respected for their maturity.
The homeless should have a hot meal and a place to stay
That the mentally ill should not be locked up and left for decay.

Minorities should be given a chance to the American dream
Foster care teens should be granted high self-esteem.
The inmates in jail should be given an opportunity to repent
Rape victims should be told that it’s not their fault, sex needs consent.

Social workers are depended on to provide some advance
To help those who think they don’t stand a chance.
The client and worker, work from beginning to end
Hoping that their feelings and situations can mend.

The images of my past still come from time to time in my mind
Sometimes hoping that I can press the rewind.
However, I will be a great social worker; this I promise, you can believe in me
Because that sweet little girl always whispers, “Don’t forget about thee.”

© Future Manhattanite [Aisha Merced], 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Future Manhattanite [Aisha Merced] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave a Reply

